PDA

View Full Version : A thousand questions....

Linzipinzi
15-10-2009, 08:47 PM
Hey guys,
ok firstly this is my first time using a forum like this so bear with me if I'm not quite 'with it'!

I have just started looking into childminding although I have been looking after my niece on a regular basis for a while now. My sister has recently become self employed and has been told she can get help with chilminding costs providing she uses a registered childminder, which I am not!

So I'm just wondering how easy the process is in becomming registered? As I absolutely love children and it might be nice to look after a few more in addition to my niece!

I'm only 19 does anybody know if this will be a problem? With 11 brothers and sisters I honestly believe I'm as capable as most to look after children despite my age!

Also I live in a very small (almost cabin style) house. Could this cause problems? My stairway is also very dangerous! There is no hand rail and it's and open stair case! I know this problem will be solved with stair gates but would this put ofsted off?

Another worry is my inability to drive. Do you have to drive to childmind? My partner is a postman so finishes his own job very early and will be able to drive for trips out ect (I do have a park within walking distance).

I would also appreciate any info on how much the whole becomming registered process costs, most sites seem to be very vague! How much are the courses and first aid courses?

Also how extreme does the safety of your house have to be? Granted cupboard locks, stair gates ect. But do they fuss about corners of your coffee table being covered and such?

For anyone who has got this far, thankyou for your time! Any help would be very appreciated! This is the perfect job for me i'm so passionate about kids and as I'm not quite ready to be a mum, maybe this could help keep my tingling overies for a while!

Many thanks,
linzi x x x

Daddy Day Care
15-10-2009, 09:25 PM
Hiya Linzi