PDA

View Full Version : Changing Hours - what to charge?

ManicMum
16-09-2009, 03:41 PM
Hello

My mindee's Mum works in care and her contracted hours to me were Monday to Friday 7-3pm.

Today she has told me her hours are changing and she will now do Mon, Tues and Weds 7-4pm.

I have asked her if these are her definite hours as if i take anyone on for the Thurs and Fri, which the chances are I won't as unlikely someone will just want those days (but you never know!), then she can not then change her hours again. it is her employer who has changed them, not her.

I am new to childminding so still finding my feet. Some childminders think I should be charging for a whole week though I think that a bit much. Should I be charging through til 6? That is the latest I would work to on a normal day.

thanks for your help!:)

Pipsqueak
16-09-2009, 03:45 PM
Personally I would only charge for those hours and try to get someone to fill the other space UNLESS mum wants you to hold those extra spaces/hours open. If that is the case (the latter) then I would be charging a retainer.

I would perhaps up the fees by 25-50p per hour to accomodate for part time hours. But that is just me!

Daftbat
16-09-2009, 03:50 PM
I would only charge for the three days.

atmkids
16-09-2009, 03:50 PM
I agree, I would only charge for the hours worked if she doesn't want you to hold the place for the other two days but put up the hourly rate.

margimum
16-09-2009, 03:53 PM
Personally I would just change the contract to her new hours/ days.
You could tell her that if the other two days are not required you will be at liberty to take someone else on for them.
You could also warn her that if a full timer came along you may have to give her notice.
Depending what it says in your contract you could make her pay thurs & fri for the number of weeks specified, but that may be a bit mean as she is also having her hours cut without asking for it:(

Chimps Childminding
16-09-2009, 04:21 PM