PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with a few questions

Holly86
15-07-2009, 05:57 PM
Hi all,

My name is Holly and this is my first time posting, although I have been browsing for some time.

I hope someone can help me with a few questions I have? :)

Well, I had my pre-reg visit last week, all went well and Ofsted lady is happy for me to be registered as long as crb checks come back ok (just hope they dont take too long:panic: )

Can anyone advise me when I can start advertising? e.g leaflet dropping etc?

Also, does anyone have any experience with young childminders? I am 23, and although I do not think that is too young to be a childminder, I am worried some potential parents may prefer someone with a little more experience. I do have a 14 month old baby so I do have experience with babies and children.

Any advise would be appreciated.
x

FizzysFriends
15-07-2009, 06:41 PM
Hi Holly, welcome to the forum.

You can advertise before you are registered but the advert has to say you aren't registered, so soon to be registered childminder or something like that is ok. You can't sign contracts or take deposits until you have your certificate though, but can make a waiting list of people interested.

I don't think age is a problem, I look about 12 but nobody has ever asked my age, although they know im in my twenties (thats to DD). In fact I have parents say they prefer younger.

chewy sweets
15-07-2009, 06:47 PM
I'm pre reg and i started advertising online about 2 months ago. You are fine to advertise before you register just as long as you state on advertising material that you are Soon to be registered. I did a leaflet drop earlier today.
Did a few streets where i live. I've put notices up in Dr's and post office and local shops- all stating Soon to be registered. Had a few enquiries but no contracts signed yet!
Get yourself listed on yell.com and vivastreet. This is where i have had most of my enquiries so far.