PDA

View Full Version : does this seem alot of money?

edayhouse
30-06-2009, 12:50 PM
Hello
Well i am relatively new to childminding and was looking for some advice...

I was due to start 3 afterschoolers once summer hols were over but parent called and asked if i could take them in summer hols too - fine

She has twins aged 6 and and older sister aged 11

My normal fees are £4 per hour - term time or school time they stay the same but since the kids are all from the same family i am giving them a discount
1st child £4 per hour, other 2 £3 per hour (think it is a bit much but have signed contracts now so....)
So in effect she will be paying me £10 per hour and i am due to have them for 3 days in holidays and same 3 days in term time but only afterschool care (hope this makes sense)

So in school hols she wil be paying me £240 per week
School term time around £80 per week

Does this seem alot of money for school holidays for someone to pay out??

Also she said that she may finish early some days but surely if i am keeping the places open for her for 3 days per week (8 hours per day) then she should still pay me for those hours even if she does pick them up early or am i being mean?

I have also asked for payment in advance -on the monday of the week childminding is taking place and for her to set up a standing order

I am rambling but my question is am i charging too much?
x

margimum
30-06-2009, 01:10 PM
does not seem much to me. in fact i would not have given such generous discounts as 1 place is within your registered numbers. hope you can get term time only littlies as you will have to save places for hols.
also, picking up early will not affect price for contracted time if you have it written down.

Chatterbox Childcare
30-06-2009, 01:58 PM
I think you have been more than generous. I would have had a higher rate for the twins because they are under 8 and a discount for the older one. Be aware if the older ones leaves as that was the higher rate.