PDA

View Full Version : Deposits?

nicolapeggs
26-06-2009, 07:20 AM
Hi, I'm new to this. I have a prospective parent coming this morning who wants me to take her child in Oct. Do I take a deposit? And do I use this as the first weeks care or keep it till end of the contract? Please help?:eek:

Daftbat
26-06-2009, 07:28 AM
I would take a deposit and yes you can use it for either senario. I usually deduct it from the first months invoice and make it nonrefundable if given less than two months notice that not needed.

nicolapeggs
26-06-2009, 08:11 AM
I would take a deposit and yes you can use it for either senario. I usually deduct it from the first months invoice and make it nonrefundable if given less than two months notice that not needed.

Thanks for that. So many people do so many different things, its hard to know what to do for the best. I'm so indecisive, and dont want to price myself out the market or do anything to put parents off coming to me!!!! Just dont know what to do!!!!!!!:thumbsup:
Do you have any other words that can help me at all?

nicolapeggs
26-06-2009, 08:14 AM
And the other thing, how much dposit to take, 1, 2, or 4 weeks money?
Help me please?
:eek:

Ripeberry
26-06-2009, 09:44 AM
I have it written in my policy that i will take 1 month's deposit, so depending on how many hours they need me then i basically say £100 if its for over 20hrs a week and £50 if under 20hrs a week.
Makes it nice and simple.
But i would like to know, what do you do if someone gives you a cheque? Can you cash it straight away and give them a pro-forma invoice to say they have £100 or £50 credit on their bill?
Knowing my luck i'd lose the cheque or they would cancell it! :mad:

Chatterbox Childcare
26-06-2009, 09:46 AM
You will get different answers depending on who is about to reply

Personally i do not do retainers but take a non refundable deposit. it shows commitment by both parties.

I ask for £150.00 or 2 weeks money (whichever is the lower).

Daftbat