PDA

View Full Version : daily paperwork

kellypm
04-06-2009, 01:23 PM
hello all

im hoping you can help me hopefully im already doing what i need to but im just worried that im not doing the paperwork i should be, each child has their own book that i complete each day detailing what they have done and i include a section for any comments i have about the day, i also write out plans for each day and have been doing development assesments for each child at least once a month as well. i am new to childminding although i registered back in december its only now that the work is coming in and i have become a little hazy on the things ofsted might be mad about if i don't do. if anybody can point me in the right direction for things i should be doing i would be most grateful .

Thanks very much

Kelly

Daftbat
04-06-2009, 04:51 PM
Sounds like you are on the right track. Each setting is different and you need a system which works for you. SO long as you are showing links through activities to the six learning areas and also linking that to their next steps in learning then you are ok.

I do a daily diary which the parents can add comments to and i show the links in the diarys to the next steps. I have a separate folder for observations and actual next steps dox.

As far as planning goes i do an indepth one at the beginning of each month based on a theme and then weekly i set out some specific planned activities using a spider diagram. Sometimes its more in depth than others such asw school hols when i have older children to think about. The only other thing is monthly individual planning for the u5's based upon what they actually enjoy doing.

Sounds a lot but if its kept up to date it doesn't take long.

Chatterbox Childcare
04-06-2009, 05:33 PM
Sounds to me like you are doing too much. Why do you need to plan for each day? Are you allowing enough time for child led activities.