PDA

View Full Version : Confused about fees & parents taking the p***

breezer
06-02-2008, 05:02 PM
Hi I am new to childminding and am currently minding 2 eight year olds. I charge £3.60 per hour which I wanted to split into 15 minute blocks. So a child arriving at 7.40am would pay from 7.30am and when I leave them at school at 8.50am I charge till 9am as this time falls within the last 15mins of care? Does this sound reasonable?

One of the parents has complained about this and says that I should be able to walk home by 3.45pm after school instead of 3.50pm. We walk as quickly as we can and her mum is always there having arrived at 3.45pm straight from work. I charge her till 4pm under the afore mentioned rules.

She now wants to collect her whilst we are walking back to prevent her from paying an extra 15 mins @ 90p! I don't like this arrangement as it means forms won't get signed at my house and we will always have to walk the same route home so she can find us.

Do you think I am being unreasonable? My problem is that I am not very assertive and wouls like to end our arrangement completely due to a string of other problems but don't feel strong enough to stand up to her.

Trouble
06-02-2008, 05:07 PM
i charge by the hour if their there on the hour fine if not they pay for the next hour, they know this from the start so its up to them:laughing: :laughing: no one would work for 1.50 per half hour so why should i

Cheeky Chops
06-02-2008, 05:08 PM
to be honest it sounds a little confusing splitting it down too much! I have hourly rates, half days/full days. If the parent goes over these then they pay, but it they go under these times it is their choice to pick up early for instance so I dont give them a refund. maybe you are giving parents too much leeway by splitting it into 15min slots!! I am unsure other than that what advice to give you x x

berkschick
You do more than me, I only break down to 30 mins!