PDA

View Full Version : gas, electric, water etc

Helen79
10-03-2009, 08:17 PM
Sorry if this has been done loads of times or if there's a link to it that I've missed.

How do I work out what percentage of the bills to put as expenses?

Do I do it on how many hours a week I work? Do you class the time you have the mindees with you as your working hours or do you include any time used for paperwork?

Also do you put mortgage, council tax down?

It's my first year childminding so I'm a bit lost with all this.

dh is self employed & does all his tax returns himself but only has his wages & his only expense is petrol so he's not much help with it :rolleyes:

sarah707
10-03-2009, 08:19 PM
This link is the best -

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/manuals/bimmanual/bim52751.htm

rickysmiths
10-03-2009, 08:48 PM
Sorry if this has been done loads of times or if there's a link to it that I've missed.

How do I work out what percentage of the bills to put as expenses?

Do I do it on how many hours a week I work? Do you class the time you have the mindees with you as your working hours or do you include any time used for paperwork?

Also do you put mortgage, council tax down?

It's my first year childminding so I'm a bit lost with all this.

dh is self employed & does all his tax returns himself but only has his wages & his only expense is petrol so he's not much help with it :rolleyes:

Were you given NCMA membership for your first year? If you were look in the front of the green Accounts book and it will give you all the percentages of things you can claim.
I do know though that you can't claim for your mortgage though. Also if you search through the threads on here there are very comprehensive lists of the expenses you can claim.

Helen79
10-03-2009, 11:51 PM
Thanks for the link :)

I work 33 hours a week so how do I work out what percentage to use? I'm rubbish with maths.