PDA

View Full Version : When to plan...

Nicola
08-03-2009, 08:41 PM
Evening all.... I am new to this and desperate for answers, so I have had a good luk round but cannot find exactly the answers I need.
I have just started minding again after being on Maternity leave and so am having to put the EYFS into place now.
I am totally stuck with planning part, when and how often I have to do it.
My impression is long term planning can be done just to note things like seasons, festivals and b'days etc for the yr?, then medium planning this is whats happening within the wk, and then daily planning.
What I would do is a yr plan which is broken down into mths which records xmas, valentines day, seasons etc.
Medium plan, which breaks this into wks and then a daily plan for what happens each day.???
But if your long term plan is for seasons and stuff, when do you get this into your daily plan if your daily plan is the childs individual interests? or would you just for example do the seasons at the beg of the wk and then the childs interests the rest of the wk?
And the obs, do you do this as and when ya do something interesting and when they do something that stands out, like use scissors for the first time etc?
Sorry to go on but I need to get this straight in my head!:panic:

sarah707
09-03-2009, 08:10 AM
FIRST come your observations... without them you cannot plan.

See what the child can do, what he says, how he learns, what interests him...

THEN put in place your individual planning for the child to build on everything you have seen and heard.

THEN with the rest of the time, have planned activities available that follow his interests and learning styles and relate to the seasons, special occasions from our multicultural and global calendar, birthdays etc.

Hth :D

nannymcflea
09-03-2009, 01:13 PM
Hello,
I do not do any long term planning. I do mine monthly and even these change.