PDA

View Full Version : Hard to fill full/part time vacancy

johanna77
21-02-2009, 10:40 PM
Hi everybody

Just wanted to know if anybody out there is finding it difficult to gain any interest in filling spaces you may have. I've been minding now for nearly three months and have advertised extensively, posters in car, leaflets drops, shops, local swimming baths. local sure start centre and no interest. I'm not able to advertise through doctors or library as they won't allow it. Thinking this may be due to the credit crunch, or maybe not thinking outside the box enough. I'm trying to hold off doing a school run until i've had my first inspection but may get int touch with local school soon, but really need this 2nd place filled asap. I filled the first place through a family contact. would be interested in other poeple' s point of view on this. i'm in the Sandwell area, West Midlands.:)

deeb66
22-02-2009, 08:31 AM
I think it varies from area to area.

It also depends on how many childminders there are in your area and how many are advertising vacancies etc.

It sounds like you are doing the right sort of things to attract the work. The only other thing I would suggest is getting out to groups and meeting up with other childminders, mums & carers.

I belong to several groups and if one childminder can't help a parent then we refer onto to someone who can and a lot of childminder spaces is filled that way.

HTH

peanuts
22-02-2009, 08:48 AM
some areas have too many childminders with more still registering.:(

miffy
22-02-2009, 08:50 AM
It does sometimes take a while to fill vacancies especially when you first start out and aren't known as a childminder.

Are you registered on the Family Information Services register? Do you know if there's a local childminder's group you could join - other childminders may be able to pass on work to you if they are full

Good luck and don't give up yet :)

Miffy xx

tammerisk
22-02-2009, 09:25 AM