PDA

View Full Version : Sleeping Baby

JoanneP
18-10-2008, 11:39 AM
Just wondered what other peoples arrangements are for children sleeping. I have a 11 mth little girl starting soon , I have a travel cot that I can put up in the living room which doesn't really take up too much space but my daughter that is just over 1yr sleeps on the sofa at the moment through the day.

I have had a look through the EYFS and cant seem to find any definite guidelines as I am new to childminding just wonderd if anyone know what Ofsteds says on the matter.

Thankyou.

sue m
18-10-2008, 12:11 PM
Hi Joanne, if the baby will sleep in the travel cot in the lounge that's fine. I asked for my back bedroom to be registered and have my travel cot up there. My lo is 15 months and she's slept up there since she started 3 months ago. You can use a baby monitor to listen out for her too.

sarah707
18-10-2008, 01:23 PM
The Eyfs says babies / children should be provided with places where they can rest and/or sleep safely without disturbance...

Sofas are not considered safe because of the risk of suffocation between the cushions - I know you are not thinking about this for the mindee but it's always worth pointing it out...

'Without disturbance' is a tricky one for a lot of people... if you put them upstairs, you are traipsing up and down every 15 mins or so to check on them, then you have to risk assess what to do with other children... and if you keep them downstairs there's a risk of other children disturbing them...

The front room with a slightly ajar door and a baby monitor is ideal... just check baby is ok every 15 mins...

Also discuss with parents what they want to happen if their child falls asleep in teh buggy or wants to sleep just before a school collection ... do you leave them in buggy or take them out...? Get signed permission from parents if they are happy for you to leave or sleep their child in a buggy :D

danast
18-10-2008, 01:47 PM
so can you 2-3 yrs old sleep on the sofa??