PDA

View Full Version : New here :-) Childminding as a single parent?

RachelL
01-03-2015, 02:26 PM
Hi everyone :) I'm new here so this is my first post - eek!
Hope you can help.

I am a single parent of a 1 year old and looking into becoming a childminder but can't afford to be worse off than I am already - is it financially viable? My jobcentre advisor wasn't very helpful and I'm finding the 'entitledto' website confusing with working out costs/tax/ni etc.

I have booked onto my local authority's childminding information session this month so hoping that will help?

I know there is demand in the area and have contact with local childminders. I am also a qualified teacher so aware of EYFS, Ofsted etc.

Any advice or experience you can give would be really appreciated

Many thanks x

mumofone
03-03-2015, 09:24 AM
Hi everyone :) I'm new here so this is my first post - eek! Hope you can help. I am a single parent of a 1 year old and looking into becoming a childminder but can't afford to be worse off than I am already - is it financially viable? My jobcentre advisor wasn't very helpful and I'm finding the 'entitledto' website confusing with working out costs/tax/ni etc. I have booked onto my local authority's childminding information session this month so hoping that will help? I know there is demand in the area and have contact with local childminders. I am also a qualified teacher so aware of EYFS, Ofsted etc. Any advice or experience you can give would be really appreciated Many thanks x

Hiya :-) Welcome :-) I'm just going through the process now. It's cost me in the region of £500 to do all the necessary things you need - DBS check, pardiatric first aid training, childminding course etc but you can get a £250 grant to help but only once you're registered and have the certificate so make sure before you embark on it that you can cover the costs in the short term, good luck :-) x

Gill Brownsword
03-03-2015, 09:44 AM