PDA

View Full Version : Hens

smurfette
03-12-2014, 08:04 AM
Hi guys

I know some of you have chickens and they have rescued some battery ones near me.. They are only €5 each and I am tempted cos I wanna help. We have a large garden and lots of other pets and we have some old rabbit hutches dh can change into a hen house but I have a few questions

Do they cost much to feed , I know they eat scraps etc?
My main concern is keeping them safe .. We have a German shepherd who lives outside a lot of the time .. She can escape her part of the garden if she wants and we have plenty of space there we could give some to the chickens but I would need to be able to keep her and cats out.. Chicken wire doesn't look strong enough

If it gets really cold or snows what do you do? Would they be ok shut in for a few days and just let out for a bit?

Thanks in advance .. And If you wanna share your hen enclosure pics I would be grateful!!

*daisychain*
03-12-2014, 10:04 AM
I'm a newbie at keeping hens, we have had ours for about a month now, the children and parents love them . I found it really helpful reading the previous threads on here about chickens and it convinced me to get them and so glad we did.
It's not costing us much to feed them and they are giving us an egg a day in return . We know we can't feed the eggs to the children because they don't have a lion mark on them , but the parents are looking forward to taking some home . We have sweetened up the neighbours first with fresh eggs :-)
We got everything we needed including the coop off gumtree at a very reasonable cost . We do let them have free range of the garden if we are out with them so we can keep on top of pooh duty, everything is obviously risk assessed .
Hth x

smurfette
04-12-2014, 10:17 AM
Thanks! Just picked 4 up! Excited and nervous!!

*daisychain*
04-12-2014, 11:32 AM