PDA

View Full Version : selective mutism

chris goodyear
05-09-2014, 06:53 PM
Hi I hope someone can give me an idea on how to go forward with this. I have been minding for over 25 years and never come across this situation! I look after a little boy who is 3 and has been coming for 6 months now every morning 5 days a week term time only. I then take him to pre school every afternoon. The thing is he never speaks to me or my daughter (my assistant) but is happy to talk to the other children and seems quite happy to be here. He shows no emotion to us and is only himself with the other children, he doesn't even show any emotion to his mum when she comes just stares blankly. He doesn't seem to be able to process any commands we give him unless we spell it out, we can't just say 'can you go to the toilet now as we are going out' we have to break it right down into simple actions and even then it takes a time for him to understand and comply. I have children 18 months younger who are quicker off the mark if you see what I mean! Had real trouble toilet training him as he would never ask to use the toilet and would always say he didn't want to go (shake of the head) - then would have an accident but since starting back this week he's been fine with that and just takes himself off (doesn't wipe himself, flush or wash his hands without constant reminders). Mum says he never stops talking at home. He is a lovely little boy, looks gorgeous when he smiles but we hardly ever see this. He does suffer from some sort of night time epilepsy and takes daily medication but we have never had an incident. Anyway today we went to the park and I put him in a swing which he loved but as soon as a smile started to appear he controlled it and didn't let it happen! To me now this seems as though he is deliberately acting like this, not to be naughty but just to not want to be friendly with us which I find really strange. When he does talk to the other children it's really basic speaking - jus