PDA

View Full Version : cheques

Kidston
19-08-2014, 07:27 PM
does any one not accept cheque? and if you do accept them to you have many parents wanting to pay using them?

i said i will accept bank transfer or cash but cheques just seem like extra hassle

loocyloo
19-08-2014, 07:39 PM
I stopped accepting cheques in January 2014.
My closest bank is 10 miles away and is only open 10-3 and the next is 24 miles away, although open 9-5.30! So... In order to pay a cheque in, it wastes a whole morning for the children and I was often given a cheque for less than £10 which just wasn't worth going and paying in.
My parents all understood and most have now mastered online banking!

hectors house
19-08-2014, 07:41 PM
I have changed banks and new bank doesn't have branch in our town, so told parents it's on line banking or cash!

natlou82
19-08-2014, 07:46 PM
Nooo I hate cheques! I used to work in a bank, and I can't think of much worse than joining a bank queue with several children in tow. Online or cash so much easier, and not had anyone wanting to pay by cheque :-)

Mouse
19-08-2014, 07:57 PM
I stopped accepting cheques about 18 months ago. I had one family paid monthly, so a decent amount and worth trekking to the bank once a month. But another family paid weekly, only £15. It wasn't worth going to the bank each week for that, so it meant I had to save up a month's cheques and pay them in all together.

I took the decision to stop accepting cheques when I found even the monthly visit to the bank was becoming a hassle. I gave parents 2 months notice and said it was going to be payment by cash, bank transfer or employer voucher. I've had no complaints at all :thumbsup:

shortstuff
19-08-2014, 09:40 PM
I havent accepted cheques since I started up. I cannot guarantee that I will get to a bank. Ive never had a parent complain about it either.

Simona
20-08-2014, 07:54 AM