PDA

View Full Version : Am i being pathetic?

Natalierose
21-01-2014, 06:42 PM
I'm quite new to this been registered 3 months I have 2 ey's 3 days a week then 3 ey's 2 days a week. On the 2 days that I have a 16 month old, 17 month old and a 2.5 yr old no matter what I do the children seem to be constantly pulling toys off each other, fighting for my attention, throwing everything and anything.
Today we have been for a long walk around the country park for two hours, sleep time, lunch, painting, pasta play, play dough, sand play, plus all the other general toys that have been out. I've been playing and engaging them in activities along with free play and I'm always interacting with them.
I don't know wether it's I'm doing something wrong or it's just the mix of children? 17 and 16 mo get on well when it's just them two it's just when the 3rd child is here.
Am I being pathetic in wanting to give notice to 3rd child? On the 3 days it's just the 2 children they seem to get so much more from the time with me and I feel pleased in how well the day has gone but I've got to the point that I dread those two days when it's the three of them and feel that they are not getting the best from being here.
Any advice gratefully received! I'm desperate! X

Smiley
21-01-2014, 06:52 PM
I think it's early days yet but many of us can relate to what you are saying. There's a 12 month age difference which is huge in terms of development and of course language skills and understanding will be more advanced with the older child. I think what you describe is normal behaviour and can be viewed as similar to sibling rivalry. Did you have the older child before the younger ones?

Hang in there and give it time, just make sure you try to differentiate activities to prevent boredom or frustration with the older child.

Natalierose
21-01-2014, 07:05 PM