PDA

View Full Version : Starting Out - Advice Please

Kay
17-07-2008, 12:04 AM
Hi everyone,

I just had a quick nosey around the forum and everyone seemed so friendly, so I thought I'd post and ask a few questions!

I've thought about becoming a childminder recently, as I've been thinking about what I'd like to be doing in a few years. I graduated as a Social Worker last year and while I enjoy it, there is alot of stress involved! I am planning on starting a family in the next few years and do not want to work full time/ away from home when I have children, and feel I would really enjoy being a childminder.

My plan is to work as a childminder once I have my own family, but would like to do the training as soon as possible in time for then.

I don't want to leave Social Work, but always complain that I don't get to spend enough time with the kids I work with anyway, and that's the part of the job I was looking forward to most!

Has anyone else changed careers like this? Also, at which level would I most likely need to start at with the childminding training as I have a degree?

Thank you in advance,

Kay

christine e
17-07-2008, 05:36 AM
Hi

Re training everyone has to ICP (introduction of Childminding Practice) before reg (or shortly afterwards) and has to do a 12 hour paediatric first aid before reg.

Cx

sarah707
17-07-2008, 06:32 AM
I came from a background in teaching and computing to come into childminding ... all childminders start on the same level with the ICP and first aid course like Christine said.

You need patience, a sense of humour and a love of paperwork (sadly) and of course children to be a childminder nowadays.

First step is to contact your local CIS (Children's Information Service) and see what courses etc they are offering.

Good luck and keep us posted! :D

katickles
17-07-2008, 07:52 AM
No more advice to add - but wanted to wish you good luck!

Kay
17-07-2008, 10:15 AM
Thank you!