PDA

View Full Version : Hi there...i am new and in need a some help

leigh2013
21-10-2013, 10:02 PM
Hi there

I am very new to all this. I am not yet a registered childminder as i am a bit confused with where to start.
I am a senior nursery nurse at the moment and hold an NVQ level 3 in childcare learning and development I am looking at becoming a
childminder. I am looking to start early next year. Where would I start I have written quite a few policies and the general rules of my business.
I have also heard that I need to do a pre childminding course. does with stil stand if i am a level 3 childminder.
also can i register without having safety gates, fire alarms etc. I am also having my garden made safe Can I register if there is still some things to be finished in my garden and what comes first.
I hope this makes sense

thanks leigh x

Rick
22-10-2013, 06:47 AM
Hi and welcome :waving:

Yes you must complete a local authority course regardless of whether you hold other qualifications.

You will learn during this course what policies you will need to write.

You will need to risk assess your house and decide what safety features you will need.

Hopefully this thread will help you :thumbsup:

http://www.childmindinghelp.co.uk/forum/starting-childminding-pre-registration-visits/117176-registering-childminder.html

JCrakers
22-10-2013, 06:56 AM
Welcome to the mad house :D

Ring your LA and express your interest. You will need to do a pre reg course, First Aid, health check and some other stuff that is hopefully on the handy link that MTK007 posted :thumbsup:

Hopefully someone will come and look at your house and give you help to improve it and you will gets lots of info on here about paperwork/EYFS

Good luck

kay2134
22-10-2013, 08:28 AM
Hello Leigh