PDA

View Full Version : Hey all :)

amylouise867
27-06-2013, 09:02 PM
I am new to all this and have recently decided to start the adventure of childminding.

I've just sent off my application for the child minding briefing.

Been doing some odd research online with regards to childminding too.... Feel abit daunted by all the information I've read of last few days even though I have a 8 year background in working with children.

It's more so the setting up, writing all the policies, thinking of a name for my 'Business'.

Don't really want to just dedicate one room to childminding either... But again that's been bugging me haha so much to think about and consider & no doubt change my mind a million times along the way.

Really hope this venture works out as I am so passionate about this and it also enables me to be there to raise my own children - giving me a focus doing something I love.

Thinking of getting in touch with some local childminders (I know I will meet some childminders to be shortly) but I thought talking in person to some in the area would b really valuable!! Along with seeing what resources, facilities etc they have got going.

This briefing can't come quick enough anyway.... Start the ball rolling :)

Any advise etc is welcome :)

Love to hear from you
Amy :)

jadavi
27-06-2013, 09:07 PM
Good luck Amy as long as you love kids you'll be fine. It is a minefield but you're more than half way there having discovered this forum. The independence is really nice too xx

amylouise867
27-06-2013, 09:15 PM
That's really kind of you thank you!! :)

Rick
27-06-2013, 09:29 PM
No need to fret. Everything you will need to do will be covered in your course!

I didn't have any previous experience with children but I think I have done a good job. It hasn't been easy, particularly being an independent male childminder but I am full now!

I worried about the business side of things but it's not too bad, you just have to be organised.