PDA

View Full Version : tax credits/hours

Emmalou77
10-06-2013, 02:59 PM
Help! Tax credits want to take away my working tax credits because I have only worked on average 23.96 hours per week and the minimum to get working tax is 24. its my first year of doing my books. I know the tax man wants average hours worked but do tax credits want it this way too as I am now doing a 50 hour week and have been since November!

Kiddleywinks
10-06-2013, 03:23 PM
Ok, worked hours for the tax man are different for tax credits.

The allowances from the tax man are based on paid working hours
Tax credits allow you to use hours spent on your business outside of your contracted hours that are unpaid, so things like :
Time spent on paperwork (Lj's, planning, accounts etc),
Meetings with parents outside of working hours
If you spent a Saturday on a childminding stall at your local school fete for example, you would also be allowed to add that into your tax credit hours, but bizarrely not for the tax man calculations.

Would adding your unpaid hours make a difference to you tax credits?

Emmalou77
10-06-2013, 03:53 PM
Thanks for this advice it's really appreciated. Can I include time spent on nvq on an evening and courses attended on an evening like sef course and first and?

Koala
10-06-2013, 04:40 PM
All time spent on activities in relation to childminding are accountable yes, I think you have probably sold yourself short. :thumbsup:

Emmalou77
10-06-2013, 04:44 PM
Thank you again, your a life saver. Is this sort of info listed anywhere?

Koala
10-06-2013, 04:50 PM
What? you mean help and advice from WFTC or local government :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

You will be surprised how much work you put into childminding if you kept a tally of your hours - not just the hours you look after children - All the prepping, shopping, training, planning etc.... even being on the forum and getting advice its all part of your job.