PDA

View Full Version : Schoolies and holidays

07-05-2013, 04:48 PM
I have a new schoolie starting in Sept with hours still under discussion. Mum seems to think she will b booking school holiday days ad hoc. I have never done schoolie contracts before so not sure what the norm is????

08-05-2013, 04:05 PM
Sorry just bumping this to see if anyone has advice as I need to get back to the mum re contracts xxx

EmmaReed84
08-05-2013, 04:11 PM
I have a school contract, I am not needed during the holidays, but there may be occasions when grandparents are away, that I am needed, so I have to keep those days open. In this case parents pay 1/2 during the holiday as a retainer to keep the space available, should they need it.

If parents DO NOT want to pay the retainer, then that is fair enough, but should I get a holiday contract that uses "their days" then so be it.

08-05-2013, 04:17 PM
Ok so parent wants me 7 till 9am then to drop at school and then pick up from school at 3 till 5.30. What do I charge in school holidays?? Do I charge for these hours at half rate?? And what rules do I have for them booking me in half term etc. sorry totally confused :(

supermumy
08-05-2013, 04:23 PM
It depends of they want you full time in school holidays ? Charge your going daily rate if so

supermumy
08-05-2013, 04:24 PM
When filling out contract state term only or hours needed in holiday their are no special rules :)

08-05-2013, 04:25 PM
I think they will do but I think they want to book as and when to save money if that makes sense

supermumy
08-05-2013, 04:29 PM
I wouldn't do a as and when personally unless their gonna pay half fee when not in use but that's me :)

EmmaReed84
08-05-2013, 04:29 PM
Ok so parent wants me 7 till 9am then to drop at school and then pick up from school at 3 till 5.30. What do I charge in school holidays?? Do I charge for these hours at half rate?? And what rules do I have for them booking me in half term etc. sorry totally confused :(