PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here looking for some guidance.

LaLaLou
12-04-2013, 02:47 PM
Hi all,

I'm Louise. I'm married with a 4yo son who starts school in September. I'm after some help/guidance/tips before I speak with my husband about this in more detail.

I currently work part time and I'm looking for a change in career direction. I don't have any formal training, NVQ's etc, for early years care. Is this necessary? Obviously this would put my timeline back, but if its a necessary given, then I'd re-jig things to make it work. I've received an information pack from my LA so I know my first aid and course costs with them. I also know I'd need to register with ofsted.

Am I right in thinking this is the right way to do my application?

*Pre-registration course and first aid course through my LA
*CRB check for me and my husband (would my parents and my M-I-Law also need to be checked? My parents would occasionally come to see me and my m-I-l comes to stay from time to time for a few days)
*public liability insurance
*register with ofsted

This is where I get stuck. I'm not sure if the above is in the correct order, or if I have missed things out. Also, my LA said it would take approx 3 months for the training and application to go through. How long after that could I expect to be up and running?

What provisions, obviously excluding food, would I be expected to supply? I still have my sons cot, I'd get new matress and sheets if I was looking after a baby/ toddler. I have some of his baby toys still that are quite unisex, I'm assuming I wouldn't have to have the entire babies r us section in my front room?!

I'm sorry if that all sounds a bit jumbled, I'm just really excited!

Louise x

Rick
12-04-2013, 03:29 PM
Hi

You don't need any previous childcare qualifications, I didn't.

I think it should be in this order:

*contact LA to find out when your next course is and attend the briefing to make sure it is what you want to do.