PDA

View Full Version : Is this right decision???

BB1982
30-10-2012, 09:16 PM
Hi all,

I am new to childminding, had my registration recently and was so excited but now I am really worried - 2 months and nothing but few calls and 3 visits!
I am mum of 1yr old little boy :), and he is main reason why I gave up my pervious office job and opt for this major change! I done research and all childminders around me are almost or fully booked, I gone trough literature and was well prepared for Ofsted visit (got 6 kids) and even tough I don't have experience in professional childcare I am mum so one can be sure that the child would be safe and well while with me. My house is in West London it is nice and clean and I have lots of toys and l&d resources, garden, parks are nearby and I visit play groups on regular basis.
However, nothing is happening!
I am wondering is it me or ChMs usually have trouble getting children in the beginning or always???Will I be able to cover my rent and bills???

I have profile on childcare.co.uk and hand out few flyers (more to go these days). i have to admit that I am a bit shy when I go to playgroups with my boy to give flyers to people and say that I do not have any children yet...

Was anyone in similar situation?
Is childminding right decision?

Many thanks in advance for any advice, experience or comfort!

mum24
30-10-2012, 10:02 PM
Aw, just to say sometimes it can be slow to start.