PDA

View Full Version : Messed up with food claims

BlondeMoment
15-08-2012, 08:41 PM
Hi everyone
I've been claiming £5 per day per child for food, for the past two years regardless of whether they just stay for lunch or whether they have tea too. I worked it out as an average. I recently put this up to £5.50 due to rising costs etc.
I think I need to look again at this as have come up with £120 claim for one week (I been looking after 5 extra siblings). My shopping bill for that week was only £80! They only stay for lunch. I def need to change it to just cover lunchtimes but does this mean I have to backtrack all my accounts for the last two years?!!??
Panicking now cos I've got in a right muddle
Any help would be appreciated.
Lisa x

madmamma
15-08-2012, 09:53 PM
By rights, I think you should do an adjustment in your tax return, however....
I personally would just do last years if I hadn't submitted already, and from april of this year

I have separate costings for breakfast, dinner, and tea, and allocate the relevant costings to each child. I then review my costings every 2 or 3 months. Yes it's a pain, but it keeps me happy ;)

Edit: You said your shopping bill was only £80 but do you do 'top ups' from the local shop, treaty stuff etc? Don't forget to add that on, and you may surprise yourself at just how much you ARE spending :thumbsup:

mr man
15-08-2012, 11:51 PM
I charge 50p breakfast, 1.50 cold lunch and 2.50 for hot ome cooked meal. Snacks are 50p.

In my diary each day, I tally mark the time 8.00 with how ever many had breakfast, and 12pm with lunch.....and so on.
Not hard to remember .

The it's all in my diary to transfer to spread sheet which has the formulas to work out and calculate .

All receipts are inside each week, I highlight anything that is cm only, and end of month, do it all and the file them .

Whe I found this my best way, I back tracked using my register, only had a yeAr and a bit to do though. Very time consuming but wroth it. x