PDA

View Full Version : What makes a good parent information pack?

DottyD
08-08-2012, 03:50 PM
Hi,
I'm just starting out (even though been registered since April 12) and am putting parent information packs together to give out to prosepective parents:

Front Cover
About my setting
About me
Typical day
Sample menu
Fee structure & how I calculate fees (i.e. standardise them so it's the same amount each month)
Copy of contract
Useful contacts (ofsted, council, websites)

I don't want to give too much out as this is just for prospective parents when they make inital contact & come and view. Any thoughts? Do you think I should leave out the contract until the parents have decided to sign up with me? My reason for including it was so they could read through and use it as part of their decision making. I didn't want them to say they wanted to use me and then when I asked them to sign the contract start to quibble. There is nothing in my contract that shoudn't be there, it is well written and it is along the same lines as one I signed myself when my children were at nursery.

Thanks,
Claire

sarah707
08-08-2012, 04:54 PM
If you look towards the end of the EYFS requirements there is a list of information which must be shared with parents.

it's a good idea to use that as a basis for your parent pack - plus the information in your list of course!

Hth :D

DottyD
08-08-2012, 06:44 PM
Great, many thanks :)

pinkellifun
08-08-2012, 07:45 PM
I have a parent information folder which parents can see at my house and then a slimmed down leaflet with some of the same info for them to take away.

In the folder I include: about me and my setting, my hours, fees and deposit, settling in, illness and notice periods, a typical day, a list of activities and a list of my policies. I also include the most important policies so they can have a read, some info about the EYFS, some leaflets i.e. FIS, abuse ones, etc and any references I have.