PDA

View Full Version : Ofsted Conditions

Nicola_tabb
29-07-2012, 07:59 PM
Hi

I recently received my certificate if registration which has a condition stating that I can't care for any under 1s and that I can only care for one under 5.

I think this is because I have an 11 month old daughter and a 4 and half year old son. However I am not planning on minding till September when my 11 month old will be 13 months and my four and a half year old will have started school.

I had previously thought that from September I will be allowed to care for 2 minded under 5s which can include up to one baby. However I don't see how I can do this with this condition attached to my certificate. Do I need to contact Ofsted, or is there something else that I need to do? I am worried that I will be uninsured to care for more children/parents won't be willing to leave their children with me with this condition on my registration.

Please help, I am very new to childminding and this could really affect the viability of my business.

Thank you in advance.

Carol M
29-07-2012, 09:39 PM
Your certificate is correct for the time it has been issued. Don't worry,from September 2012 and the new EYFS you will be able to have a baby in your care when your child turns 1 and another when your son is attending full time school. The Revised EYFS states how many children a childminder can care for and we must abide by that, so you will be able to have in your care 6 children under 8, of which 3 may be 5-8 yrs and 3 in the early years age range (0-5) unless Ofsted have imposed restrictions on your numbers possibly due to the space you have or your health etc. You must then include your own children in these numbers.
There is currently alot of discussion on here regarding variations from Sept as this still does not seem to be clear.
Happy Minding :)
Carol xx

lorettacritchet
03-08-2012, 07:51 PM