PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone appealed their grading?

Childminder in Kent
11-07-2012, 01:29 PM
I had my first graded inspection yesterday and was graded 'good'. I was happy untill she said that if it wasn't my first inspection - I would have been graded 'outstanding'. She said that almost all people at this stage (1st inspection) get 'satisfactory' but she was taking into account the exceptional amount of work i.e obs, planning, evaluating etc I have and my many years of experience and knowledge.
I had my co-ordinator visit on Monday and she is shocked at the decision and suggested appealing - I don't know if I will, It just seems unfair that if im outstanding I can't have the 'label' because im just starting out.
Area to improve was my toy deployment - I currently have open, low boxed units for the babies and drawers with picture and word labels for the older children. Im not sure how else I can improve to enable self choice - children can access everything already!?

WibbleWobble
11-07-2012, 01:51 PM
i had exactly the same at my first inspection....she did give me some outstanding features but could not give me an overall outstanding. I was a bit meh about it but really i couldnt give a flying doo doo.

I have improved my setting 100% since and i look forward to Mrs O coming to see me next year...i know/hope i will blow her hand knitted socks off!!!

it has give me impetus to show her!

grrrrrrrrr

and my improvement was to do proper structured phonics with the three under twos i looked after.....er.......berk

mandy xxxxxxxx

Childminder in Kent
12-07-2012, 05:34 AM
Mandy,
Thanks for your reply. Structured phonics for 1-2 year olds lol - and they are meant to know more than us!

I feel really bad not being completley happy - A good is fantastic really!

jumpinjen
12-07-2012, 06:12 AM