PDA

View Full Version : Ending a contract/delayed pay

newbieminder12
08-07-2012, 10:59 AM
Hi all,

I am fairly new to childminding and have had 1 parent from the first week I started, it was all very rushed contracts as she came on the Saturday and wanted to start on the monday.

When it comes to contracts with all of my parents I have been very laid back and maybe naive! I have not put dates on for payments or when they should pay although at the very end (NCMA contracts) I have put in the box for non payment that I will end contract after 7 days of non payment.

So anyway this parent for the first month was paying me on the Monday of each week for that week, she has different hours every week. For the last month or so she keeps fobbing me off, she will get other family members to drop off/collect her child so that she doesn't have to explain why she doesn't have payment. After this week she has a holiday starting on the 12th (which I have advised half pay for) and then the 6/7 weeks holiday, I have a feeling she is not going to pay me for next week or the week holiday she has as I'm struggling to get hold of her for this weeks!!

I would really like to end the contract at the start of the 6 weeks holiday also but not sure how to go about this, do I have to give a reason? whats the best way to go about trying to get her to pay?

Sorry for such a long essay! :(

madmamma
08-07-2012, 11:59 AM
Contact your insurance company asap, explain the situation and they can guide you through their recovery procedures, which you will need to follow through if you want to see any money back

rickysmiths
08-07-2012, 01:06 PM
If she has not paid you and is more than 7 days overdue end childcare immediately as you have in your contract for non payment.