PDA

View Full Version : made a big mistake,now really worried

kaykaymoo
07-07-2012, 06:14 AM
Hi all. am shaking as im writing this. I am new to childminding and have been lucky in finding mindees.
However, I had a call from a family around 10 days ago, asking if I could take their 2yr old son as an emergency to start on Monday just gone.
I agreed to meet with the mum. When she came we had a good chat and the little boy seemed lovley, so i decided to go ahead. Unfortunatly there was no time for settling in, so I did the contracts with the parents and stupidly i have a 4 weeks notice period written in my contract.
However, the child turned out to be extreamly disruptive, and was hitting, biting, pushing,snatching, to the other children and I was extreamly worried about a 1yr old i care for. He also did not respond to me at all. There was a language barrier, so this did not help. I took him out to all sorts such as play group, where he hit another child, Park, where he kept running off and wouldn't listen when I called oh the list is endless. He was trowing round toys, and also he would not eat a single bit of food for me all day, no matter how hard I tried, I offered him every thing i could think of but just could not get him to eat. All the other children I look after love my food and meals and are very happy with it.
any way, I raised my concerns with parent mid week, to which I hoped maybe things may have improved, but no.
So I decided yesterday to write a letter to the parents ending my childcare of thier child as I was so concerned about the safety of my other mindees and also of him and I thought it best to finish before it goes on too long.
Well The dad is furious with me now and is saying he is going to sue me and put bad reviews of me with the council!! oh god, please help i am gutted, I thought i was doing the best for the other kids i care for and now it looks like i will loose everything.

miffy
07-07-2012, 06:41 AM