PDA

View Full Version : Fee increase - parents not happy. Please help!

CTL03
19-06-2012, 09:34 AM
Hi everyone,
I've been childminding for 2 years now and I have had one set of girls (sisters) with me from day one.
When I first started I offered £4 an hour plus 10% discount for siblings (a LOT less than the current average for the area)
In Sept 2011 I increased my fees to £4.25 due to high outgoing costs etc but still kept the 10% discount.
I'm still making a loss and so for every new starter (although not many) I've increased my fees to £4.50 and taken away the discount.
My mindee childrens parents has offered my services to their next door neighbour and because she only wanted X amount of hours I've had to increase her fees as it doesn't match my minimum contracted numbers despite taking up two places.

I DONT charge when any of the children are not being looked after (i.e. at preschool, school, nursery etc).

The next door neighbour is happy with the increased fee and no discount.

Yesterday I had an email from the first mindees parents asking for a dramatic decrease of hours as her and her neighbour are going to look after each others childrens.

I responded back saying the decrease was fine but I'd have to increase the fees from £4.25 to £4.50 and take away the 10% discount.
(One girl is now at school full time and one is at nursery for 2.5 hours a day anyway)

Needless to say this went down like a brick. I'm having a meeting with the parents TODAY and I don't know how to broach the subject as I'm not good with confrontation.
Please help!

Daftbat
19-06-2012, 09:52 AM
I think you just need to state your case clearly and be business like about it.

We are not doing this for a hobby afterall and you are free to charge as you see fit so long as you give the appropriate notice for any changes.

Fees are a difficult area (or can be) and no one size fits all!