PDA

View Full Version : Can I claim these in first month accounts?

stargazer1
12-05-2012, 07:54 AM
I have just been registered and am starting with new mindees on Monday. Am going food shopping today, will do both mindees food shop and our personal food shop at the same time but on separate receipts. Can I claim the business miles? Do u keep receipts for fuel or do you note down the miles and claim it that way?

Also, I have been keeping receipts for the past three months for things I have been buying in prep, i.e double buggy, noticeboard, outdoor toys etc. Can I now put these in on my first lots of expenses in my book (its going to put me at a massive loss!) but obviously they are business expenses.

God Ive never done any bookkeeping before. Help!!!! :eek:

madmamma
12-05-2012, 08:09 AM
You don't need to do separate shopping for mindees
It's much easier to work out the cost of each single meal over a period of say, a month, and then use these figures for accounting purposes:

cost of ingredients divided by number of servings = average cost of meal
£15.00 / 5 people = £3.00 each for evening meal
When you notice prices are increasing, do the process again (I generally check every 6 months)

Highlight on your bill anything that is solely used for mindees, like nappies/wipes etc and claim for that in another accounting column
Keep any receipts that have been highlighted. Just food receipts need to be kept for 3 months in case of a food issue, but can then be binned.

Mileage: keep a notebook in your car, and make a note of the starting mileage and the end mileage of any minding related trips you make. You then have a record of where your miles to claim @ 45p per mile
Yes you can claim mileage to go shopping for mindees

Pre reg receipts - yes you can put it down, and yes it will create a loss, but that's fine.

HTH

stargazer1
12-05-2012, 08:21 AM