PDA

View Full Version : EYPS

Pandypops
30-04-2012, 12:21 PM
Hello - I am thinking about applying to do the EYPS this year and I was wondering if any of you that have done it can let me know what you think and if it's worth it?

I want to do the 6 month pathway as I am a graduate (in something different and I already childmind). I am worried that I may be unable to as I only mind children from two of the age groups and none in the 30-60 months age group. Will this matter?

Is the workload really huge? Are there lots of assessment visits or mostly written work?

Thanks in advance :):)

The Juggler
30-04-2012, 12:39 PM
hiya

I started this then didn't finish :blush: You will have to do the long pathway hon, as your degree is not in childcare /early years.

good luck. :thumbsup:

sillysausage
30-04-2012, 06:57 PM
I was planning to do the EYPS but at the moment I'm not sure it's worth it. The qualification seems to be getting less and less recognition.

Pandypops
01-05-2012, 08:41 AM
Well I am going along to the open evening tomorrow so I can find out a bit more.

I really want to do it whilst there is the funding available, but I also have concerns about its worth just like you sillysausage. I would be really upset if I committed to it and then it wasnt recognised in a year or two.

I prefer to do lots of written work rather than assessments - the thought of having lots of inspection-type visits really puts me off, far too stressful!

sarah707
01-05-2012, 09:30 PM
I didn't do it for a lot of reasons - it's not geared to childminders, it would mean taking time off, it's not really got the recognition they had hoped for, I'm not sure how relevant it is to my work...

I suppose if I was looking to do something other than minding in a few years time I might reconsider :D

jadavi
01-05-2012, 11:01 PM