PDA

View Full Version : Planning and attendance?? Diary ??

sharonmanc
23-04-2012, 06:02 PM
Am i ok to use a page per view diary to log times in and out by children and also do planning for that day.

I want to keep paperwork to a minimum, and was thinking this would be an easy way to do it.

Does anyone else use a diary?

Bridey
23-04-2012, 06:04 PM
I haver done but soon got fed up with writing 13 names down every day (all part timers) LOL

I don't think there is anything wrong with what you are doing if that is how it works for you.

sharonmanc
23-04-2012, 06:12 PM
Thanks, I hope it will be ok, i am not good with spreadsheets etc, and i want to cut down on using tonnes of paper,and printing out documents

sarah707
23-04-2012, 06:59 PM
How would you show evidence to eg tax credits, a court in case of query, Ofsted inspector regarding a complaint etc if they wanted to see original details about 1 child... and you had more than 1 child's attendance noted on a page?

How would you maintain confidentiality for all children if 1 set of parents wanted to check their child's attendance times by looking at your diary as they were querying the bill?

How long are you prepared to keep your diaries once children leave? Remember that attendance records are your proof of when a child was / was not with you and for many model safeguarding policies from local authorities they have to be kept until the child reaches 21 (or even longer). If you were keeping them in a diary that would mean storing them until the youngest child noted was 21... which could be a lot of years.

There are lots of other reasons why it is better to keep individual records of attendance - these are just a few things to think about.

Hth :D

pillows
23-04-2012, 07:17 PM
Sarah 707 has said exactly what I was thinking as i was reading down the thread.