Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  6
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Good morning Friday

It’s going to be a scorcher today!

I’m not working but I have got a few jobs I want to get done in the garden. I’m going to have a coffee then go and get started so Ive finished before it gets too hot. I’ve said before that I don’t cope well with excessive heat so I’ll probably spend the afternoon sat in front of the fan, trying to keep cool

One of my jobs today is to try and figure out a way of protecting my vegetable plants from the sun. They were growing really well but after a very sunny day last week, they all ended up frazzled. The leaves were so dry they crumbled and the lettuces looked like they’d been fried - brown, crispy leaves. I’m new to growing veg so don’t even know if I’m supposed to protect them from blazing sun. I’m sure farmers don’t go out and cover fields of crops with sunscreen, but I need to do something with my little patch.

Have good days everyone and stay safe in the sun

2. Likes Pixie dust liked this post
    Registered Childminder since
    Sept 09
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

One of my jobs today is to try and figure out a way of protecting my vegetable plants from the sun. They were growing really well but after a very sunny day last week, they all ended up frazzled. The leaves were so dry they crumbled and the lettuces looked like they’d been fried - brown, crispy leaves. I’m new to growing veg so don’t even know if I’m supposed to protect them from blazing sun. I’m sure farmers don’t go out and cover fields of crops with sunscreen, but I need to do something with my little patch

Morning Mouse, we have a slightly different problem in our little veg patch in that someone or should I say something has eaten our cabbages one minute there were lots of lovely plants the next day they had been stripped. I don't know much about growing veg either