Likes Likes:  31
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Registered Childminder since
    Jan 13
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

I am a secondary teacher and taught for a while before I had my son. The amount of school trips and 'fun' days added up to a lot more than a 5 day holiday, plus teacher training days. as a teacher i never spent time 'catching up' in class, if a child missed work i sent it home. My son missed 1 day of school last year due to a sickness bug and he didn't get the reward for full attendance. Guess what the reward was - a day out of school at the local soft play centre!!! Tell me what message does that send to our children.

2. Likes bindy liked this post
    july05
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

I think this is one where you either take the children out of school or you don't. Don't think there is a right or wrong answer. I do firmly believe that something should be done about the holiday companies hiking the prices in the school holidays to increase their profits. The government keep moaning about what childcare costs why don't they start on the companies that make millions.

However I do think the part about the child about the not having to be in school legally till the term after 5 is a bit of a mute point as you fully intend to use the place for all other times of the year.

Honestly the fine isn't going to stop people as it still will be so much cheaper than going in the holidays.

Beachgirl if you really want to go then book and then put the holiday form in and expect to get it back unauthorised its 5 days in the grand scheme of things. I wouldn't say she was ill because if she is anything like my dd she would have to tell her teachers/friends all about meeting Minnie mouse and then if someone said oh I thought you were ill. I wouldn't put my children in that position for something they had no control over