Changing Career Advice
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  2
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    BuggsieMoo Guest

Default Changing Career Advice

As much as I love working as a cm, I am moving to a new area in a few months and am contemplating continuing as a cm. I am currently studying my BA Hons in Childhood and Youth Studies and id ideally like to get into school work.

Can someone advise re Early Year Teacher roles and Teaching Assistant Roles.

Do I contact the local schools of the local authority to enquire about positions?

Thanks all

Bugs xx

2. Likes SamBaker liked this post
    Registered Childminder since
    Dec 10
    Post Thanks / Like

If you contact the LA they should be able to give you a list of vacancies. When i worked in a school we used to get a monthly newsletter type thing from the LA every month with new vacancies.

BuggsieMoo Guest

Thank you. I shall give them a call and hopefully they will have a list. x

July 11
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Our Local Authority advertises them on-line so it might be worth a look and I did read somewhere that any teacher and I presume that includes a TA has to hand in their resignation prior to 31st May to allow the school to recruit for Sept.

Good luck.

Sam x

Nov 04
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

if you are doing your BA(hons) then you could go on to do a TA position hon.

Normally they'd want you to have a TA level 3 qualification but given what you are studying they might not. I would contact some local schools first off.

Register on E-Teach, they have loads of TA and other school jobs, and you will see what qualifications they are looking for. Some want lots of school experience and some not. If you have some classroom experience it will help, along with your CM experience so maybe some volunteering if you have any free days?