Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Teaching and Childminding part time

Hi

I'd really appreciate some advice from people on here. I'm training to become a childminder at the moment, so am just in the process of starting out. Currently I'm a teacher and work three days a week having reduced my hours after becoming a mummy myself just over a year ago. I love my job as a teacher but don't feel that I could do the job five days a week and spend the time that I want with my daughter. So, I would like to become a childminder but don't want to give up my job as a teacher right away and was hoping to childmind on the two days that I'm not in school. I realise that I'm limiting my potential mindees as I'm only offering two days but would really like to give it a go. Does anyone else do this? How is it working out? I'd really like to hear people's experiences.

Thanks

oct 02
    Latest Inspection Grade
    outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

i would think it would work as long as you are happy to share your time with your daughter ( when you are not teaching ) with mindees.

*****mind 4 days a week, and volunteer in school on my day off, for the morning. i love it, its using my skills and i know i am appreciated. BUT, if i need to do something, then i can take that day, as otherwise i have 3 LO under 3 every other day, (plus my children afterschool) and simply popping out for some milk, can, mad as it sounds, prove impossible! ( i do live in a rural area though )