Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: cypop 5?

Registered Childminder since
    Jun 11
    Post Thanks / Like

Default cypop 5?

I'm new to childminding, Got a parent coming to see me tomorrow night regarding me looking after her child, however i'm starting to panic as I was just reading through a few posts and came across one which said you have to do a cypop5 course before you can become a registered childminder? I have never heard of this course, the lady from ofsted never mentioned it to me? Help!

Aug 94
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

You need to speak to the Local Authority who are dealing with your Registration they should be telling you what you need to do.

My understanding is CYPOP5 or something similar and First Aid, enhansed CRB for you and all those over 16 in your setting, Insurance, Register with your local authority through Environmental Health as a Food Business and they may inspect you, Register with the Information Commissioners Office for Data Protection as a min before you can start minding.

I am surprised you can interview prospective parents yet. Do you know when you will be fully registered it sounds as if you are in very early stages?

Jun 11
    Post Thanks / Like

No, i already have my certificate. thats why im confused

Aug 94
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

How odd! Do you have an equivilant qualification? If not get in touch with the people who did the Registration for you in your area and ask them.

Jun 11
    Post Thanks / Like

No, no other qualifications. It was never mentioned, not on my briefing session, pre reg or when ofsted came in do my inspection. the lady from ofsted asked to see all my certificates I had, like first aid and that but she never mentioned anything to do with the cypop5. Could it be that different areas dont require it?

Aug 94
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like