Getting used to being a childminder
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    Jan 14
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Getting used to being a childminder

How long did it take you to get used to being a childminder?
    Was it a shock to your system or did you take to it like a duck to water?

oct 02
    Latest Inspection Grade
    outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

I can't really remember! I had been a nanny for 14 years prior to childminding, so for me the only difference was that I was in my own home, and I decided what I did when ( although 99.9% of the time I did that when nannying anyway! )

June 13
    Latest Inspection Grade
    GOOD
    Post Thanks / Like

I've been minding for 4 months now and at first it was novelty but now the thoughts of being alone worker and letting people down if I needed time off is getting to me. It's like a huge responsibility also it's taking over my house even though I have a playroom. I try not to moan because there are soo many positives to this job. I have to accept that it is still new and will be for a while longer yet and it just takes time to adapt.

pre-reg
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

I love pleasing myself! Simple as that, I had a very senior job with lots of decisions to make, I find it much better making the decisions now that they are for me and only me not a big company!!
    I have never looked back since leaving in July and I thought I might miss it, yes I get fed up with the constant housework but I get to do it during the day when the children are sleeping etc rather than when I used to walk through the door at 7pm after leaving the house at 7am!
    I get to decide when I want to work in that the contracts are going to be no more than a few years so I see that now I'm into it I know what bits I won't fill again when they leave for school so I will eventually work 4 days and if possible finish at 5.30!