First meeting of potential parents! Help!
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    Dec 12
    Post Thanks / Like

Default First meeting of potential parents! Help!

I have a meeting on Monday with a potential parent, but have no idea what to say or do? I feel as if I should be taking the lead but don't want to come across as pushy. Since I am new to all this any advise would be appreciated. Out first meeting is away from my home. Think the parent felt a little uneasy coming to my home when they don't know me from Adam.

Dec 12
    Post Thanks / Like

This is probably a bit naughty but I'm bumping this as I really need some advice!

Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

I would invite people to my home - it's where their child is going to be playing and they are going to come every day they drop their child off.

I do a quick show round, leave them to read my files while I get them / their child a drink, answer any questions they might have and then share info and documents depending on how our conversation is going.

There is a list of things that parents must be told about in the Eyfs - follow that and you won't go far wrong.

Do you have a little welcome booklet or similar? That might be useful to set out your terms and conditions... and a fee schedule of course!

we all get nervous I think - just give yourself a moment to answer and you'll be fine

Apr 08
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Hello, I used to be the same and I now jot a few reminders down so then I don't forget to ask things! It can be abit daunting and I've experienced those awful silences a few times you know when your mind goes blank and the parents don't know what to ask and it all goes quiet!!!