How long does it take to begin childminding?
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Non childminder member
    future childminder
    Post Thanks / Like

Default How long does it take to begin childminding?

From scratch i mean. Im so unsure as to when to begin and am concerned about my income during training and waiting for children, wonder if i could do all this and hand in notice once im qualified, i work in a school so all week days are taken up tho. Thankyou xx

Registered Childminder since
    july05
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

I wouldnt be handing in your notice just yet. It can be lenghty process getting on the course completing the course, crbs, health declarations can all take time.

You should be able to do the course at night so that wont affect your day job.

It can also take a while to get your first mindee.
    When someone tells you nothing is impossible, tell them to go slam a revolving door

Oct 12
    Latest Inspection Grade
    GOOD! Hurrah
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by woowit View Post
    From scratch i mean. Im so unsure as to when to begin and am concerned about my income during training and waiting for children, wonder if i could do all this and hand in notice once im qualified, i work in a school so all week days are taken up tho. Thankyou xx
    From my personal experience:
    1. You have to contact the local authority and enquire about their pre-registration briefing. This tells you about what is involved with childminding generally and the Introduction to Childminding Practice course.
    2. If you still want to do the course, for me, all of the course was contained within 2 and a half hours on a Tuesday night, 6:30 to 9pm, for nine weeks. So potentially you could carry on with your job whilst attending the course.