I signed my first 3 mindees today :)
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Default I signed my first 3 mindees today :)

Wow what a rollercoaster couple of weeks Ive had!! I got my registration certificate through a couple of weeks ago, the day after I went on holiday for a week (which was amazing) the day I got back my employer phoned me to say I no longer had a job, due to no fault of my own.....I worked as a self employed mother/baby swimming teacher and l loved it, I was planning on childminding on top of this. I was absolutely devastated and in a panic, I'm a single mum with a mortgage to pay and no job, no savings NOTHING!
    So Ive now decided to childmind full time and after sending loads of messages on childcare.co.uk since I got back last wed Ive just signed my first 3 kids I'm soo relieved!

2 of the kids are sibling schoolies who I will be having 2 days a weeks from 6:30am-7:30pm before and after school and includes 2 weekends a month also from 6:30am-7:30pm sat and sun I know you prob all think I'm crazy taking this on but I really need the money and it works out good money for only working 8-10 days a month for this particular family. I just wanted to ask do you think its ok to stick the TV on and let them chill for half an hr when they arrive so early in the morn and has anyone got any ideas how to entertain a 7 and 8 yr old (boy and girl) for 12 hrs a day at the weekend and in school hols?

Mar02
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Well done you!

Yes, I would say it is acceptable for the children to watch tv. The children will be tired, arriving early, so will need some time to relax. We cant expect children to be on the go constantly.

I would say Lego is a huge hit with my older children. It is expensive, so if you dont have any - maybe a carboot sale etc. Its well worth it.
    Board games and art and craft are good time fillers too.