Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: visitors book

Registered Childminder since
    jan 12
    Post Thanks / Like

Default visitors book

Its me again, sorry everyone, just a quick one, i'm just getting my visitors book together and i have a section for 1. date/time 2. visitors name 3. reason for visit 4. any other details of visit. do i need to to have a section about weather they saw/had contact with the children?

Aug 94
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

You know you don't have to have a vistors book.

I have been minding for 18 years and have never had one. I know who is in my own home at all times and if I have a visitor who is not another minder the children are never left alone with the visitor so there is no problem the children are safe at all times.

Ofsted have never commented, and nor should they because it is not a requirement that we have one.

I'm not sure how this idea was ever put forward for cms or for what reason.

I have always been Inspected as good and the last 2 Inspections with Outstanding in keeping the children safe.

Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

A friend had an action recently for not getting the inspector to sign in... so some inspectors do want to see a visitor book.

However as Rickysmiths says it is not a requirement.

You can record the information in your daily record book if you prefer

Post Thanks / Like

My visitor record has date of visit/ name of visitor/ contact number/ reason for visit/ arrival time/ departure time.

Rickysmiths is correct, a visitor record is not a legal requirement but some see it as good practice.

Miffy xx
    Keep smiling!

June86
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

I record time, date, reason for visit etc also add no contact with children were appropriate.

nov 02
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by sarah707 View Post