Nursery Education provision - questions
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Nursery Education provision - questions

I'm just getting started with childminding - still in the registration process. I'm considering focusing though, on just preschoolers and taking advantage of becoming registered to offer nursery education. I've been a preschool teacher/childcare provider for many years, just not in my own home.

Can anyone tell me if it's difficult to become registered to provide nursery education? Also, how could I find out what the reimbursement rate is for my area (Oxfordshire) - is it handled through the county council? (just wondering if the rate is competitive)

If there's a thread on this already, please just point me in the right direction. I did a couple of searches, but with no luck.

Registered Childminder since
    Aug 94
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Nursery Education provision - questions

Hi

The rate is set by the government and last time I looked it was around £3.00 per hour but that may have changed. If you call your local early years team at the council they will tell you and point you in the direction of the local network that you will have to join. Being a teacher I expect you will qualify very quickly

Note that the vouchers are only avaialble 33 weeks of the year and some areas start at 3 year old and some 4 year olds and some do 2.75 hours and some 3 hours.
    Debbie

Nov 04
    Latest Inspection Grade
    outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

Do you know if there is an accredited network in your area as i think you have to have one in most areas to be able to access the early years entitlement?