Experiences cms have you  noticed a change in the way children play over the years?
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  35
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Registered Childminder since
    July 11
    Latest Inspection Grade
    GOOD
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Experiences cms have you noticed a change in the way children play over the years?

I'm interested in how children learn to play and was wondering if any of the more experienced childminders (with 10 years plus) experience have noticed a change in their mindees ability to play, especially with all this increase in technology with ipads, televisions and phones etc. Also with regard to parents being 'busier' these days (sorry I say that tongue in cheek).
    I realise this doesn't apply to all children but for example when I used to be a teacher I realised that some children spent less time reading which had a considerable impact on their literacy skills, especially writing.
    Last edited by nipper; 20-02-2013 at 08:08 AM.

sep09
    Latest Inspection Grade
    outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

Im not so experienced but have dipped in and out for 20 years or so!
    I think as a generalisation children dont have the same skills , but do have a whole new set! They may struggle for example to do a jigsaw puzzle by hand , with the dexterity and puzzle solving skills , but give them the same puzzle on the ipad they would be fine! The ability to 'problem solve' is still at the same level , but the way it is learned has changed.
    More and more children seem to need to be 'taught' to play , they are so used to having the telly and their gadgets that they struggle to entertain themselves without them.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by mama2three View Post
    Im not so experienced but have dipped in and out for 20 years or so!