Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    July07
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Finding training so hard

I've been childminding since 2007 and except for my First Aid I've not been on a training course.
    I did my child protection and food hygiene at home. This is because my dh works 90miles away, takes the car to work and I have 2 children and no babysitter.

Now I'm becoming accredited and need to do 'Progress from the start' so I've looked at the training booklet (like I always do) and they are offering 3 dates throughout November.
    Weds 9.30am-12.30am
    Weds 6pm-9pm
    Thurs 9.30am-12.30am

The council offer me £10 to cover costs...WOW
    I work 8-6pm and the 6pm one is a 50min drive away and I have no way of getting there other than taxi which will cost a fortune and no one to watch my two children (dh doesn't arrive home until 7pm)
    The daytime ones I definitely cant do without losing a substantial amount of money and letting down two families.
    Does anyone else find it difficult. I live right on the southern border of the county so travelling to the northern part takes between 50-60mins.

Plus Im becoming accredited for a family I work for, I dont particularly want to lose wages over this.

Aug 94
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

I go back to my council when they do this and jump up and down until they sort out training for childminders

We have "Inhouse Training" which is funding for us to organise it ourselves!
    Debbie

sep09
    Latest Inspection Grade
    outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

Its hard -my oh works a similar distance away and getting to training evenings proves a major challenge sometimes.