Apprentice in need of help!!
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  10
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Apprentice in need of help!!

I'd desperately like some advice if anyone can help, I'm an apprentice for a childminder and I am regularly left alone for long periods of time with more children than is to ofsteds quotas. I do not have a health and safety certificate so legally this shouldn't be happening, my boss is more concerned with running personal errands, she often leaves her home in a mess from her dinner the night before for me to deal with and asks me to do tasks that are irrelevant to the job. I am fully capable of looking after all the children but I'm terrified of ofsted arriving and me losing my job and credibility for not doing anything but if I go to ofsted myself I will lose my job and will have spent 7 months trying to get my nvq for nothing. Id really appreciate any help that can be offered x

Registered Childminder since
    Nov 04
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

well personally honey, if this were me. I would leave immediately and report her to ofsted. if she challenges you I would say someone mentioned to you that they were going to report her for leaving you and that is why you left. Tell her your childcare career is worth more than blowing it. Alternatively ring ofsted and get them to visit whilst you are in charge - that way she might not twig it was you and they will see the evidence for themselves.

You are not looking after children, she is using you as her skivvy.

The other thing you could do, depending on how brave you are, is tackle her, but I know as someone's assistant I'd find that hard. Speak to your NVQ supervisor for advice on how to handle it or the local early years team as well so they can support you but please, please report this to ofsted.

let us know how you get on.
    if you do what you've always done, you'll get what you've always got