Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  3
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Story sacks

Registered Childminder since
    Mar 13
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Story sacks

What do your top three story sacks contain?

oct 02
    Latest Inspection Grade
    outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Gruffalo ... Gruffalo story, gruffalo s child story. Character s/puppets. non fiction book about woods. Gruffalo snap game. Gruffalo song cd.

Elmer ... Elmer book, other elmer book ( I have several & swap them ) non fiction book about elephants. Elmer toy. Elmer puzzle blocks. Small plastic elephants. Elephant song.

Hooray for fish ... Book, toy fish, non fiction fish book, toy fish tank, fish songs, book about opposites.

Plus I have several bags with song books & either a puppet or toy relating to the song. The children love these too.

Mar 13
    Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for that. I'm just starting out as a CM after teaching secondary drama for 12 years - quite excited by the prospect of it all!

oct 02
    Latest Inspection Grade
    outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

I love doing story sacs. I find a story we like & find some puppets/soft toys/small world bits to help tell the story. Then look for another book in the series or similar, & then for a related non fiction book. I then try to find a song/game that is related.

Forgot...in hooray for fish we have magnetic fishing!

Have fun :0)

june 83
    Latest Inspection Grade
    good
    Post Thanks / Like

I am really sad at the moment knitting toys to go with stories, really enjoying doing it and the children love the cuddly toys to play with as we read the books or sing the songs

Mar 13
    Post Thanks / Like

I'm not familiar with the Hooray for Fish book. Major change of mindset from working with 18 year olds! Hunting the Internet for some 'sacks' as I type!

Mar 13
    Post Thanks / Like

Now I wish I could knit!

oct 02
    Latest Inspection Grade
    outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like