Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Deposit query

Registered Childminder since
    Aug 13
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Deposit query

Hi

Please could you advise what I need to do.

A parent has paid me a deposit (which was taken in November to hold a space open for her and would count towards December's fees) and the rest of Dec's fees in advance. After two weeks of trying to settle in her little boy to no avail she has decided not to continue with the contract which was due to start next week. I'm going to return December's fees to her but what about the deposit which I took to hold the space open for her?

I'm new to childminding so just a little unclear on a few things like this!!!

Many Thanks.

Apr 01
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

It depends whether you put on the contract that the deposit was non-returnable in the event that the parent decided not to take the place. If it says non-returnable on the contract then you do not have to return it. If you have not put non-returnable then you may have to return it - speak to your PLI insurer for clarification.

Mar 04
    Post Thanks / Like

I was under the impression that a deposit was a payment for the place and if the childminder had the space available to the parent then the childminder has fulfilled her commitment and if the parent didn't take the place then the parent forfeits the deposit. I would keep the deposit and refund fees. A deposit is financial security to commitment - If the commitment isn't honored the deposit is lost. Why else would you take a deposit.

If the deposit was to save the space and you provided a place for the lo and parent changed their mind (no matter what reason) then the deposit is forfeited.

I always tell people the deposit is non refundable and confirm in writing once a deposit has been placed but I would have thought personally if I had paid a deposit and I changed my mind - no matter what - I would loose my deposit.

Latest Inspection Grade