Tablets and aps and generally cutting down on the paperwork!
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  6
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Tablets and aps and generally cutting down on the paperwork!

Hi everyone, apologies if this has already been asked several times! (I've done a search on aps and computer tools but couldn't find what I was after!)

I'm currently an early years teacher but halfway through my training to be a childminder and wanting to get organised ready for registration in January.

One thing I hate about teaching is how much of my house is taken up with files and folders, especially when everythings on the computer as well anyways. We have recently been allowed at school to purchase iPads and have the 2 build a profile ap on it which has saved tonnes of work with the observations, linking it to development matters ages and stages etc and reduced the printing significantly. However, I have found some issues which I'll mention in a bit.

When I decided to be a childminder I thought about investing in a tablet device (currently I don't have one, only laptop) with the view that I could use it solely for the business and essentially have all the important documents I need on it thus using much less space in my house and saving me a fortune in printing. So in theory I could have my accounts, policies and procedures, planning, observations etc. all on one device. Obviously I would back this up with an external hard-drive so I wouldn't lose everything if anything happened to it but it would mean if Mrs O came by and wanted to know anything it would all be relatively easy to find, all to hand and all backed up. Would also mean I could email anything to parents etc and only one device to keep track of as far as data protection and safeguarding were concerned.